Photo Blog of Charlet's Post-Grad Antics

Lost in Translation: Sensō-ji

Sensō-ji

So after we got home we watch Lost in Translation. Great movie. Lots of the same feels in that movie when you go to another country. But the thing is in the movie they don’t make the best of their time there. Well until the part where they meet up and go out for the night. That’s what I think. The best thing is getting lost. That’s where the adventure lies… I wandered off to the next neighborhood from my hotel while Chad took a nap. I had enough yen to get there but I didn’t have enough for the train back. I also couldn’t find an ATM where my card would work to get more yen. So I decided to walk back to the hotel. Then it started to rain. Awesome. It was a fun 30 minute walk in the rain and dark. Tokyo doesn’t have as many street lights as Korea. But I did get some great pictures at the Sensō-ji.

This was the one non-geeky thing I did on the trip. This is Sensō-ji Main Hall. It is an ancient Buddhist temple located in Asakusa, Taitō, Tokyo. It is Tokyo’s oldest temple, and one of its most significant. But you can read more about it on the Wikipedia page here.

4 responses

  1. I like the new layout!!

    July 31, 2011 at 7:21 pm

    • Thanks! I like it too. More personalize now I think…

      August 5, 2011 at 12:34 am

  2. Did you like the movie “Lost In Translation”?

    I live in Tokyo…but I hated that movie.

    I wrote about a better alternative:
    http://tokyo5.wordpress.com/2009/05/24/ramen-girl/

    August 5, 2011 at 7:45 pm

    • I really did like Lost in Translation. There are parts that, as a foreigner, are accurate but there are some things that aren’t. What drives me crazy, about the characters, is they never made much of an effort to go out and befriend the locals. They spend the whole movie with each other. I understand it’s about forming a strong bond with a strange and becoming friends, but what’s the point of going to a foreign country and just handing out with other foreigners… I agree with what you wrote about The Ramen Girl . She goes out and experiences Japan and forms a strong bond with a local, that’s a bit more interesting bring two cultures together instead of one just being confused about another.

      I still think Lost in Translation is a great movie. It show you can create a friendship and making a bond with someone out of nothing; however, they just pick Tokyo to be exotic I guess.

      August 5, 2011 at 11:39 pm

Leave a Reply

