Photo Blog of Charlet's Post-Grad Antics

Orange-ya glad you’re a teacher!!

A Giant Bowl of Tangerines

So one of my co-teachers Makala had a blog about Teaching Perk: Food and this blog is no understatement on food we get. It’s true we get random food most of the time, especially holidays!

Today one of my afternoon students brought two crates of tiny tangerines. Apparently his grandma owns a tangerine farm on Jeju Island and SURPRISE! Here are some tangerines. These are organic too, not chemicals or pesticides! So one crate for each teacher, me and my partner teacher Elle. We gave as much away as we could, not because we didn’t want them, but how is ONE person going to eat a CRATE of tangerines. We gave them away to students, teachers, passer-bys on the street (well not really, but I was planning on giving some to the homeless guy I sometimes see on the subway stairs, sadly he wasn’t there today, it was too cold) I still left with a big heavy bag full even after giving lots away.

So, no way I’m getting scurvy! Now hopefully these will clear up the cold I have (the cold, another present from the kids….)

2 responses

  1. Are they like Clementines??

    December 17, 2010 at 9:41 pm

  2. Yes they are the same family as Clementines. Tangerines and Clementines are variations of Mandarin oranges. But I think Tangerines are the smallest and grow during the winter in tropical and semi-tropical areas (like Jeju-do)

    December 19, 2010 at 7:34 am

Leave a Reply

